Faculty

ME General Info:
isume@iastate.edu
2025 Black Engineering
Ames, IA 50011
Phone: 515 294-1423
Fax: 515 294-3261
Faculty and Staff Listings on the College of Engineering Directory site


Agba small Emmanuel Agba
Senior Lecturer
1245 Hoover
515-294-3005
eagba@iastate.edu
Asjes small David Asjes
Lecturer
1345 Hoover
515-509-9509
asjesd@iastate.edu


Attinger crop Daniel Attinger
Associate Professor
2036 Black Engineering
515-294-1692
attinger@iastate.edu
Bai-small Xianglan Bai
Assistant Professor
2070 Black Engineering
515-294-6886
bxl9801@iastate.edu


balasubramanian-web Ganesh Balasubramanian
Assistant Professor
2092 Black Engineering
515-294-9226
bganesh@iastate.edu
Baughman small Jackie Baughman
Senior Lecturer
1343 Hoover
515-509-9509
jacqulyn@iastate.edu


Bhattacharya small Sourabh Bhattacharya
Assistant Professor
Henry Black Faculty Fellow in Mechanical Engineering
2102 Black Engineering
515-294-0569
sbhattac@iastate.edu
Bigelow small Tim Bigelow
Associate Professor
2113 Coover Hall
515-294-4177
bigelow@iastate.edu


brown Robert C. Brown
Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering
1140 E BRL Building
515-294-7934
rcbrown3@iastate.edu
Bryden small Mark Bryden
Associate Professor
1620 Howe Hall
515-294-3891
kmbryden@iastate.edu


Chandra - 2 Abhijit Chandra
Professor
2106 Black Engineering
515-294-4834
achandra@iastate.edu
Claussen small Jonathan Claussen
Assistant Professor
2104 Black Engineering
jcclauss@iastate.edu


feve small Sebastien Feve
Lecturer
1237 Hoover
515-294-0069
sfeve@iastate.edu
Ganapathysubramanian small Baskar Ganapathysubramanian
Associate Professor
306 Lab of Mechanics
515-294-7442
baskarg@iastate.edu


hagge Matt Hagge
Senior Lecturer
2624 Howe Hall
2098 Black Engineering
515-294-4270
fforty@iastate.edu
Nastaran Hashemi crop Nastaran Hashemi
Assistant Professor
William March Scholar in Mechanical Engineering
2028 Black Engineering
515-294-2877
nastaran@iastate.edu


Hayes-web Caroline Hayes
Department Chair
Lynn Gleason Professor of Interdisciplinary Engineering
2025 Black Engineering
515-294-0356
cchayes@iastate.edu
heindel Ted Heindel
Bergles Professor of Thermal Science
2018 Black Engineering
515-294-0057
theindel@iastate.edu


heise Jim Heise
Senior Lecturer
1243 Hoover
515-294-3857
jheise@iastate.edu
Hsu small Ming-Chen Hsu
Assistant Professor
304 Lab of Mechanics
515-294-4632
jmchsu@iastate.edu


Hu small Shan Hu
Assistant Professor
2076 Black Engineering
shanhu@iastate.edu
Kelkar - 1 Atul Kelkar
Professor
2038 Black Engineering
515-294-0788
akelkar@iastate.edu


Kim small Gap-Yong Kim
Associate Professor
Departmental Space Planning Coordinator
2034 Black Engineering
319-269-6938
gykim@iastate.edu
kong Song-Charng Kong
Associate Professor
2014 Black Engineering
515-294-3244
kong@iastate.edu


Krishnamurthy small Adarsh Krishnamurthy
Assistant Professor
303 Lab of Mechanics
2020 Black Engineering
levitas Valery Levitas
Schafer 2050 Challenge Professor
2351 Howe Hall
515-294-9691
vlevitas@iastate.edu


Lu small Meng Lu
Assistant Professor
305 Durham Center
515-450-9951
menglu@iastate.edu
Luecke small Greg Luecke
Associate Professor
2016 Black Engineering
515-294-5916
grluecke@iastate.edu


Maxwell small Gregory Maxwell
Associate Professor
2012 Black Engineering
515-294-8645
gmaxwell@iastate.edu
wright-crop Mark Mba Wright
Assistant Professor
2078 Black Engineering
515-294-0913
markmw@iastate.edu


meyer Terry Meyer
Associate Professor
2030 Black Engineering
515-294-1805
trm@iastate.edu
Montazami small Reza Montazami
Assistant Professor
2094 Black Engineering
515-294-8733
reza@iastate.edu


Oliver small James Oliver
University Professor
Larry and Pam Pithan Professor of Mechanical Engineering
1620 Howe Hall
515-294-2649
oliver@iastate.edu
Olsen - 3 Michael Olsen
Professor
2008 Black Engineering
515-294-0073
mgolsen@iastate.edu


Padalkar small Sonal Padalkar
Assistant Professor
2068 Black Engineering
padalkar@iastate.edu
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Alberto Passalacqua
Assistant Professor
302 Lab of Mechanics
515-294-5047
albertop@iastate.edu


Radkowski small Rafael Radkowski
Assistant Professor
2026 Black Engineering
515-294-0771
rafael@iastate.edu
Sarkar small Soumik Sarkar
Assistant Professor
2100 Black Engineering
soumiks@iastate.edu


Schwartz small Cris Schwartz
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Education
Associate Professor
2024 Black Engineering
515-294-2866
cris1@iastate.edu
Shapiro small Howard Shapiro
Lecturer
1337 Hoover
515-294-3362
hshapiro@iastate.edu


Shrotriya small Pranav Shrotriya
Associate Chair for Graduate Education
Associate Professor
2019 Black Engineering
515-294-9719
shrotriy@iastate.edu
Sippel small Travis Sippel
Assistant Professor
2090 Black Engineering
515-294-3803
tsippel@iastate.edu


Starns - 1 Gloria Starns
Senior Lecturer
2032 Black Engineering
515-294-9946
gkstarns@iastate.edu
Subramaniam small Shankar Subramaniam
Professor
305 Lab of Mechanics
515-294-3698
shankar@iastate.edu


Sundararajan small Sriram Sundararajan
Professor
2080 Black Engineering
515-294-1050
srirams@iastate.edu
vance Judy Vance
Joseph C. and Elizabeth A. Anderlik Professor of Engineering
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
2274 Howe Hall
Room 1620
515-294-9474
jmvance@iastate.edu


Wang small Xinwei Wang
Professor
2010 Black Engineering
515-294-2085
xwang3@iastate.edu
Wickert small Jonathan Wickert
Senior Vice President and Provost
Iowa State University James and Katherine Melsa Professor in Engineering
1550 Beardshear Hall
515-294-0070
wickert@iastate.edu


Winer small Eliot Winer
Associate Professor
2070 Black Engineering
515-322-1120
ewiner@iastate.edu
Zhang small Song Zhang
William and Virginia Binger Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
2096 Black Engineering
515-294-0723
song@iastate.edu

Adjunct Professors and Courtesy Appointments



Bastawros small Ashraf Bastawros
Adjunct Associate Professor, Aerospace Engineering
2347 Howe Hall
515-294-3039
bastaw@iastate.edu
Bond web Leonard Bond
Courtesy Professor, Aerospace Engineering
2247 Howe Hall
515-294-1055
bondlj@iastate.edu


Gray small Joseph N. Gray
Adjunct Associate Professor Physicist, Center for Nondestructive Evaluation
215A Applied Sciences Center II
515-294-9745
jngray@iastate.edu
Hong small Wei Hong
Courtesy Assistant Professor, Aerospace Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering (Courtesy)
2239 Howe Hall
515-294-8850
whong@iastate.edu


McClelland small John McClelland
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ames Laboratory Research Associate
110 Spedding Hall
515-294-7974
mcclelland@ameslab.gov
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Richard Stone
Courtesy Associate Professor, Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering
3027 Black Engineering
515-294-3644
rstone@iastate.edu