Faculty

Creating knowledge through research. Educating the next generation of engineers. Innovating and improving society through technology. Leading the profession. These are the hallmarks of the mechanical engineering department at Iowa State University. Our faculty members are experienced researchers and educators who are grounded in fundamental disciplines and focused on solving timely problems that address important national and global technological needs.

ME General Info:
2025 Black Engineering
Ames, IA 50011
Phone: 515-294-1423
Fax: 515-294-3261
isume@iastate.edu

Faculty and Staff Listings on the College of Engineering Directory site

Faculty roster for printing

Professors

attinger Daniel Attinger
Associate Professor

515-294-1692
attinger@iastate.edu
Bai Xianglan Bai
Assistant Professor
515-294-6886
bxl9801@iastate.edu
balasubramanian Ganesh Balasubramanian
Assistant Professor
bganesh@iastate.edu
bhattacharya Sourabh Bhattacharya
Assistant Professor
Henry Black Faculty Fellow in Mechanical Engineering

515-294-0569
sbhattac@iastate.edu
bigelow Tim Bigelow
Associate Professor

515-294-4177
bigelow@iastate.edu
Robert C. Brown
Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering

515-294-7934
rcbrown3@iastate.edu
bryden Mark Bryden
Associate Professor

515-294-3891
kmbryden@iastate.edu
chandra Abhijit Chandra
Professor

515-294-4834
achandra@iastate.edu
Claussen small Jonathan Claussen
Assistant Professor
jcclauss@iastate.edu
  Baskar Ganapathysubramanian
Associate Professor
515-294-7442
baskarg@iastate.edu
hashemi Nastaran Hashemi
Assistant Professor
William March Scholar in Mechanical Engineering
515-294-2877
nastaran@iastate.edu
hayes Caroline Hayes
Department Chair
Lynn Gleason Professor of Interdisciplinary Engineering
515-294-0356
cchayes@iastate.edu
Ted Heindel
Bergles Professor of Thermal Science
515-294-0057
theindel@iastate.edu
Hsu Ming-Chen Hsu
Assistant Professor
515-294-4632
jmchsu@iastate.edu
kelkar Atul Kelkar
Professor
515-294-0788
akelkar@iastate.edu
kim Gap-Yong Kim
Associate Professor
515-294-6938
gykim@iastate.edu
Song-Charng Kong
Associate Professor
515-294-3244
kong@iastate.edu
Valery I. Levitas
Schafer 2050 Challenge Professor
515-294-9691
vlevitas@iastate.edu
lu Meng Lu
Assistant Professor
515 294-9951
menglu@iastate.edu
luecke Greg R. Luecke
Associate Professor
515-294-5916
grluecke@iastate.edu
Erin MacDonald
Assistant Professor
515-294-3298
erinmacd@iastate.edu
maxwell Gregory M. Maxwell
Associate Professor
515-294-8645
gmaxwell@iastate.edu
Terry Meyer
Associate Professor
515-294-1805
trm@iastate.edu
montazami Reza Montazami
Assistant Professor
515-294-8733
reza@iastate.edu
morrow W. Ross Morrow
Assistant Professor
515-294-4690
wrmorrow@iastate.edu
James Oliver
University Professor
Larry and Pam Pithan Professor of Mechanical Engineering
515-294-2649
oliver@iastate.edu
olsen Michael G. Olsen
Professor
515-294-0073
mgolsen@iastate.edu
Padalkar small Sonal Padalkar
Assistant Professor
padalkar@iastate.edu
passalacqua Alberto Passalacqua
Assistant Professor
515-294-5047
albertop@iastate.edu
Sarkar small Soumik Sarkar
Assistant Professor
soumiks@iastate.edu
schwartz Cris Schwartz
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Education
Associate Professor
515-294-2866
cris1@iastate.edu
shrotriya Pranav Shrotriya
Associate Chair for Graduate Education
Associate Professor
515-294-9719
shrotriy@iastate.edu
Sippel Travis Sippel
Assistant Professor
515-294-3803
tsippel@iastate.edu
Subramaniam small Shankar Subramaniam
Professor
515-294-3698
shankar@iastate.edu
sundararajan Sriram Sundararajan
Associate Chair for Operations
Professor
515-294-1050
srirams@iastate.edu
Judy Vance
Joseph C. and Elizabeth A. Anderlik Professor of Engineering
515-294-9474
jmvance@iastate.edu
wang Xinwei Wang
Professor
515-294-2085
xwang3@iastate.edu
College Dean, Jonathan Wickert Jonathan Wickert
Senior Vice President & Provost, Iowa State University
James and Katherine Melsa Professor in Engineering
515-294-0070
wickert@iastate.edu
Eliot Winer
Associate Professor
515-989-1750
ewiner@iastate.edu
 wright Mark Wright
Assistant Professor
515-294-0913
markmw@iastate.edu
Song Zhang
Associate Professor
515-294-0723
song@iastate.edu
 

 

Lecturers

Emmanuel Agba
Senior Lecturer

515-294-3005
eagba@iastate.edu
asjes David Asjes
Lecturer
515-294-4850
asjesd@iastate.edu
feve Sebastien Feve
Lecturer

515-294-0069
sfeve@iastate.edu
Matt Hagge
Senior Lecturer

515-294-4270
fforty@iastate.edu
Jim Heise
Senior Lecturer

515-294-3857
jheise@iastate.edu
Gloria Starns
Senior Lecturer

515-294-9946
gkstarns@iastate.edu
Baughman, Jackie crop Jackie Baughman
Senior Lecturer
515-509-9509
jacqulyn@iastate.edu
 

 

Adjunct Professors and Courtesy Appointments

Ashraf Bastawros
Adjunct Associate Professor

515-294-3039
bastaw@iastate.edu
Bond web Leonard Bond
Courtesy Appointment
515-294-1055
bondlj@iastate.edu
gray Joseph N. Gray
Adjunct Associate Professor

515-294-9745
jngray@iastate.edu
Wei Hong
Courtesy Appointment

515-294-8850
whong@iastate.edu
Michael Kessler
Courtesy Appointment

515-294-3101
mkessler@iastate.edu
mcclelland John McClelland
Adjunct Associate Professor

515-294-7974
mcclelland@ameslab.gov
Richard Stone
Associate Professor

515-294-3644
rstone@iastate.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Shyam Bahadur
Bill Bathie
Joseph Baumgarten
Jim Bernard
Jerry Colver
Bill Cook
Richard Danofsky
Paul DeJong
Arvid Eide
Max Gassman
Jerry Hall
Alexander Henkin
Alfred Joensen
George Junkhan
Pat Kavanagh
Charles Mischke
Ron Nelson
Ted Okiishi
Mike Pate
Leo Peters
Dick Pletcher
Don Roberts
George Serovy
Howard Shapiro
Bernard Spinrad